Buildaburger Conference 26 October 2014 – Sweet Dreams Versus Sour Reality

IMG_8761

Things don’t always work out the way you expect, but as they say “If life gives you lemons, make lemonade”. A lemon is hardly a booby prize in any competition, being one of the most universally applied flavours in the entire world, but somehow it has become a trope for failure. One can only assume that is due to the lemon’s acidic sourness when interfaced with in its virgin state.

Here is my attempt at a recipe for cornmeal “biscuits” from the Great Big Cookie Book by Hilaire Walden. I followed the recipe to the letter, but the dough was so wet I had to add a significant amount of additional plain flour and cornmeal in order to make it firm enough to form into biscuit shaped blobs.

I have made several recipes from this book in the past with only the cheese pennies being a disappointment. It is quite possible I made a mistake, but whatever. What’s more when I rolled them out to the recommended thickness, they swelled upwards rather than outwards.

The photo shows my attempt next to the image that inspired me to try this recipe in the first place.

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/751035.The_great_big_cookie

What’s more, I managed to accidentally set the oven to top heat and fan only which browned them topside far too much rather than an all around bake heat. I realised my mistake after the first batch and I also cut the second batch thinner.

I am nothing if not flexible.

The resulting “biscuits” are not biscuit-like at all, they’re more like scones, but what is the problem with scones? It’s a rhetorical question, the answer is nothing. I remember the first time I baked cheese scones and they were so delicious it made me question myself why would I ever eat anything else, ever. Not actually a serious question, but if your biscuit is a scone, what’s the problem?

Life gave me a couple of lemons, so I made a gin and tonic, but if life gives you a Conservative government, populated by sacks of sour acid, what can you make with that?

Leave a Reply

