Buildaburger Conference – National Curry Week Day 1 – 13th October 2014 – Meat Free Monday

IMG_8632

Regular readers will know that my wife is second-generation Greek-Cypriot immigrant. UKIP are not popular in our house. Here is a recent Facebook status update of mine.

“For the first time ever, I refused to work an event. I am freelance and so I can pick and choose which days I work although in practice I take pretty much everything I’m offered regardless of the client (if I am available). I often work at Doncaster Racecourse, but I declined this particular job [UKIP conference]. My employer remarked that if he turned down everything that was run by people he didn’t like, then he would get no work. I agree and would normally do the same, but UKIP and the Conservatives can fuck right off.”

What you’re seeing here is red lentil dahl with Asian inspired coleslaw, both from Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s “River Cottage Veg Everyday” book. I said to Stella that eating from the recipes in this book, I could easily consider going vegetarian.

Hardly the chow of a British Bulldog, that epitome of Britishness.

According to Wikipedia re Bulldogs: “The designation “bull” was applied because of the dog’s use in the sport of bull baiting. This entailed the setting of dogs (after placing wagers on each dog) onto a tethered bull. The dog that grabbed the bull by the nose and pinned it to the ground would be the victor. It was common for a bull to maim or kill several dogs at such an event, either by goring, tossing, or trampling.”

Doesn’t that identification just make you proud to be British?

The British have much to be ashamed of, and this week’s blog posts will be a celebration of multiculturalism and a commentary on the British and the rising racism, nationalism and continued warmongering of those who claim to be more British than the rest of us.

Expect some great food photos and unashamed bile.

Leave a Reply

